something like life

random stories from a random life

The Big Debate

on January 11, 2012

This is a HUGE deal. Some serious debates have come out of this topic. Pretty sure countries have fallen over it.

I grew up on the West Coast (that is a topic for another day, East Coast friends), and I think I may have called it ‘soda’. I moved to Texas (again, another topic for another day) and now I’m not really sure what to call it.

[The East/West Coast thing, and the Texas/Every-other-state thing are also huge debates. It’s almost comical sometimes. Until someone gets shot, which has happened. Over WHICH COAST you live on. Sad. But, I digress.)

Die-hard southerners call everything ‘coke’. Pepsi is coke. Sprite is coke. You ask for a coke, and they will say what kind, and you will answer with Dr. Pepper.

Go a little farther north and you get ‘soda’. Keep going and you get ‘pop’. Whatever it’s called, I don’t drink a lot of it, but when I do, I always falter a littl, then just string them together to be safe. “Yes, I’d like a sodacokepop, please.” Or sometimes I just use the actual name of the beverage when wanting a specific type, such as Sprite, but that seems to illicit an even more confused response from some.

But let’s face it – no matter what you call it, someone will give you an odd look because you said the wrong thing. What do you call sodacokepop?

 


One response to “The Big Debate

  1. Jennie Slack says:

    I grew up with ‘pop’ but try to say ‘soda’ now that I’m in Texas. I refuse to call everything ‘coke.’ That’s almost like saying I’m going to “love on them” (WAY too Texas for me.

Leave a comment