something like life

random stories from a random life

No Words

on January 13, 2012

If you know me at all, then you’ll chuckle when I say that it is very rare that I don’t have words. As a writer, I love words. And I generally have something witty or profound or just ridiculous to say about almost everything. (I hear my co-workers agreeing wholeheartedly right now!)

But, today I had no words.

A very good friend from my military days called me today to talk about the middle-of-the-night phone call about a young Marine that he knew who had lost both legs. He listened as the young, and relatively new, wife of this Marine went through so many emotions over the phone. And as my friend talked about it, all I could do was listen.

What do you say? What can you say? As a writer who always has the words, I couldn’t find any that would be “good” enough to say. My heart hurts so very much for this young couple – the Marine that is no longer whole and the wife that has to be the one he leans on most. Even though I do not know their names or anything about them, I fight tears as I think about them and the sacrifice they have made.

Don’t forget the cost of our freedom.


Leave a comment