something like life

random stories from a random life

“Home”sick

on September 17, 2013

I have to admit that even after over a year, I still am sad about moving.

(Why did I move then? Well, when God tells you to do something, it’s better to do it. Trust me – I learned that too many times the hard way.)

I don’t miss the awful humidity. I don’t miss the crazy storms that spawn watermelon-size hail and tornadoes. I do not, not, not, not miss the man-eating mosquitoes that swarm like flies on cow manure.

I miss the people.

I spent ten years there, building a life and making some of the most wonderful friends. I went through most of the major changes in my life there, and those people were with me and never turned away – even in the really dark times.

I miss my church. I miss the fabulous stuff that my kids got to be a part of and the fantastic people that poured into them. I miss singing with the best band and the best best worship leaders.

I miss my job at my church. I loved that job, and love the people that I got to work with.

I miss my little ‘nephew’ and my cousins!

I sure miss my chiropractor!

I still am not quite sure why I’m here and not there. Still wondering what (hopefully) amazing thing will happen that had to be done here. Considering I’ve spent the majority of my adult life waiting and struggling, it’s not much different, just tiring.

So, my wonderful Texas “family”, I miss you!


Leave a comment