something like life

random stories from a random life

Everyone is Scottish!

on September 18, 2013

I follow the official James Bond feed on Facebook because I love James Bond. Most days they post a picture and trivia, and today it got me thinking about how cool JB is. And then onto the debate of the best JB (Daniel Craig takes it, IMHO). Which got me thinking about Sean Connery. Which made me chuckle thinking about how, not matter what character he is playing, he never, ever, ever even attempted to have an accent other than his native Scottish accent.

Russian submarine captain in ‘The Hunt for Red October’? Scottish.

Former American Alcatraz prisoner in ‘The Rock’? Scottish.

Indiana Jones’ dad in ‘The Last Crusade’? Scottish.

King Arthur in ‘First Knight’? Scottish.

Irish-American cop in ‘The Untouchables’. Yep – Scottish!

It’s kind of sad that he doesn’t act anymore, because he really is great. I’ll just have to re-watch some of the old JB movies – oh, darn.

Does anyone else find this funny, or is it just me?

 


Leave a comment